The Dump Truck

Well, it has been a couple of months since I have posted anything, mainly due to a bad case of bronchitis and being out of town.  I am now back in the  saddle as they say, so I figured I better get blogging!

I do a fair amount of painting for our church, Grace Chapel in Leiper’s Fork, TN.  This past winter, our Youth Pastor, Bill Cannon, asked if I could assist him in painting a stage prop he had built for the annual GC Kids Production, ‘Kids Under Construction’, that took place in March.  Pastor Bill is known for his creative engineering talents and he leaves no stone unturned when it comes to building something.  He showed me his idea of the dump truck, then showed me the parts that needed to be painted.  I said I would help and then proceeded to paint the frame and cab at the church as they were rather large.  The other parts I carried to my studio to paint there.

20160215_144620
Purple foam sheets are the pieces for the dump box, and the white foam discs are going to be the tires.
20160218_135421
PVC pipes that will be painted with ‘chrome’ spray paint and become the axles and exhaust
20160218_141346
Exhaust pipes drying.  The ‘chrome’ spray paint was really nice to work with.

The frame was made of wood, the axles and exhaust pipes were made of PVC pipe, the gas tanks were large rectangular plastic jugs with silver insulation wrapped around them, then the tires, box, and cab were made out of styrofoam.

20160218_133611

Michael

20160224_161917
Sides, tailgate and tires ready for shipping!

The studio was rather cramped for space and I did a bit of rotation as the pieces were painted and set to dry.

 

20160225_104754
Rear view, and yes, it actually rolls!

20160225_104706

20160225_104728

 

Once we assembled the truck, I added red glitter letters to the sides, and there was also yellow chains to finish off the box, but for some reason I do not have a photo of that.

20160308_152700
Nearing completion, setting up the stage.

It all came together nicely, and during the show the 10 foot long dump truck even had smoke coming out of the exhaust pipes, thanks to a smoke machine Pastor Bill had hidden in the box of the truck!  I hope you enjoy the pictures, and would love to hear your thoughts!  Have you created something out of styrofoam?

 

One thought on “The Dump Truck

Leave a Reply

