Painted Spoons and my Etsy shop

It has been a busy fall thus far, with two art festivals in the books and another one this Saturday in Lynnville, TN and a commission for a pet portrait as well.  My booth at these shows not only has examples of my pet portraits, but also greeting cards featuring my artwork and photography, fine art giclee prints of my work, and some of the metal items I have painted on.  I also revamped my Etsy site with these items for purchase as well, and you can visit it by clicking here.  One of the items I have enjoyed as of late is painting on old metal spoons that I pick up at flea markets and yard sales.  They make a wonderful ornament and/or gift.

Hand painted metal spoons, Denny Martindale
Spoons cleaned and ready for paint

The spoons are usually silver plate or stainless, often times having a dent or some mark or defect and are not in complete sets.  I do a vinegar wash on them to break surface tension and remove oils, then apply a bonding primer then paint with latex house paint and seal with spar urethane.

painted metal spoons, Denny Martindale
Spoons on display tree
painted metal spoon, Denny Martindale
‘Bay at Pasture’ spoon
painted metal spoon, Denny Martindale
Closeup of ‘Sunset Cruise’ spoon

I hope you are doing well and would love to hear from you.  Also, please keep Paris and the world in your prayers.  God bless!

Leave a Reply

