Painting on a Milk Can

One of my latest painting projects was a milk can.  It was old, with very old black paint on it that was starting to chip and had a tad bit of rust showing.  Once again I was doing the fox hunting theme which I thoroughly enjoy.

Milkcan, acrylic painting, fox hunting
This is the start of the milk can project. The grey paint is the adhesion primer, which will be completely covered in paint.
Milk can , acrylic painting, fox hunting
This is side 1 in progress
milk can, acrylic painting, fox hunting
Detail of side 1 completed
Milk can, acrylic painting, fox hunting
This is side 2 completed. This view shows the finished top.

 

After completing the painting, I placed the milk can in front of our fireplace.  It looked really good there, and I received many complements on it.  Finally, the client came to pick it up and I was sad to see it leave.  I have picked up a milk can of my own, now to get time to work on it!

 

4 thoughts on “Painting on a Milk Can

    1. That would be great! I am currently painting on some serving tiers that I will just have to photograph and post when they are done as I can’t seem to explain them so anyone understands what I am talking about. I just finished another fox and have a large (30 gal?) tub, a smaller (10 gal?) tub w/lid, and a bread can (4 gal?) w/lid that I have the primer coats on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

