Painting a closet (or, ‘oops’ should be a new painting term)

My paternal grandfather was a professional painter, as in houses, schools, and other commercial buildings.  He was very good at it, as it is a trade that has to be learned.  My father learned the trade, but not for employment purposes, and he is a perfectionist when it comes to painting a house.  All of the prep work such as spackling, mudding and sanding etc. must be just right before a brush ever meets a wall.  My father taught my husband what he knows about the subject also.  They do a very good job whenever they take on such a task. 

Even as a young girl, I have enjoyed art and painting, but I prefer a canvas or painting a mural.  When I was about 8 I wanted to paint a mural on a soffit in my bedroom.  I could picture a pasture of horses grazing in vivid green grass all across the overhang.  Of course, my parents were not in favor of this idea.  Therefore, I was never allowed to paint on the walls.  I never had helped my father and husband when they were painting our house, and over the years I have wanted to try it.  I had watched them many times with the patching and mudding, sanding etc, and was quite confident I could handle this.  How hard could it be?

Since we are repainting most of the house, my husband had me help him with the wall preparation.  This part of the procedure went quite well, although it is very time consuming.  I decided to start painting the walls, and my husband suggested I start in a closet as it wouldn’t stand out if there were any problems and a smaller area would be easier to manage.  That sounded good to me, so I started in the closet, cutting in the edges, then rolling the middle.  Sounds easy enough.  That’s when it got messy. 

I started with the ceiling, and all went well.  No problem!  Next, I started up in the farthest corner, working my way down to the floor and thinking it is fortunate to be tall doing this job.   Now for the next wall, and so on around the small area.  However, I soon started having to rethink everything.  I bent over to continue rolling on one wall, oops, I backed into the wet paint on the wall behind me.  Touch up that area.  Roll paint on next wall, oops, my elbow rubbed through on the other wall.  Touch up.  Begin working on the trim on the inside of the closet, oops, my shoulder ran into the other wall.  Touch up.  Paint the shelf running across the back, oops, my hair grazed the trim behind me.  Touch up.  Finish the back wall, oops, my arm laid into the shelf I just painted.  Touch up.  Oops, touch up, oops, touch up.  Finally, I completed the closet.  It looked terrible at first, but that it is the way paint does as it doesn’t dry evenly. 

Once the paint dried, we found it actually looks really good!  I then moved on to another room, and finished the trim and everything without my initiation mishaps.  I must say a good paint job is only as good as the prep work that has been done and the tools that are used.  If you use a cheap brush or roller, it will definitely show.  Most of the paint is out of my hair, my jeans are decorated a bit differently now, and the closet is ready to start putting stuff back in.  I actually enjoyed this learning experience, and look forward to doing this again, although I might think twice about doing the closets!

Leave a Reply

