Art and learning

Just arrived home from giving a talk to a few sixth and seventh graders about my art and the pastel/charcoal mediums.  Miss Emily’s class was a group of super kids, and they are all budding young artists, and very talented I might add. 

It is always good to see fresh young minds taking in a new idea or concept.  Their questions often spark more creativity and questions from those of us that are seasoned or have some experience.  It is a good thing for everyone.

I was impressed with the art program at Freedom Intermediate.  The students get to work with mediums such as clay, paints, origami, scratchboard, just to name a few.  I spoke with Miss Emily about how many schools do not get much funding for art.  She understands how fortunate they are in this aspect.  Art is an integral part of learning.  It is a release from the monotonous memorization and researching.  I look back on my school years and the ones that I had an art class in the mix were much better years academically and emotionally for me than those without it. 

Times are tight right now, and we definitely don’t need anymore taxes, period.  However, if you are able to help a school with money for art supplies, it would benefit many students.  Probably 99% of the students won’t ever become artists, but they gain an appreciation for the work that someone else put into creating something.   It is also an exposure to culture and history, and maybe even a hobby they can share with their children. 

Best of luck to the art students in Miss Emily’s class!  I thoroughly enjoyed sharing my art with you, and I hope you all excel in whatever you choose to do!

Leave a comment